Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Franz Xavier Richter (1709 - 1789) on Spotify

August 23rd this year,  Harpsichordist and lecturer counterpoint Tieneke Steenbrink endorsed pre-classical composer Franz Xavier Richter (1709-1789) in the Dutch radio program “Diskotabel”. 
Richter was one of the founders of the so called “Mannheim School”, where “galant” instead of elaborated music was the esthetic norm and orchestral virtuosity was a virtue. Steenbrink showed that in the case of Richter this reform did not result in the loss of harmonic depth, especially in his vocal works. The broadcast (in Dutch) can be heard *here*.

In this playlist I included several works she showed during the broadcast. 

Richter’s 1744 publicized Symphony in C major shows the innovations in orchestral playing, that was made possible by the *new* virtuosity of the Mannheim orchestra of that period. The 1763 second sonata for flute and basso continuo shows the fluent melodic lines of the “gallant” style of that period. Richter also takes time for this, contrary to earlier practice the first movement takes about 10 minutes, even without all notated repeats played. The Sinfonia con Fuga in g minor anticipates the “Sturm und Drang” style of the young Mozart and early Haydn symphonies. The De Profundis is from Richter’s Strassbourg (1769-89, France) period and was ordered for the use of music at Funeral services. Finally the 1789 Requiem was composed for Richter’s own funeral, and, as Tineke Steenbrink explained in the radio program, shows remarkable harmonic depth. Composer Christan Fridrich Schubart noted in his diary that Franz Xavier Richter died with the score of this Requiem in his hand…

Hope you wil enjoy this playlist again! 

Franz Xavier Richter (1709-1789)

-Symphony in C Major ( issued 1744) 
Helsinki Baroque Orchestra,
Aapo Häkkinen, Conductor

-Sonata no 2 for flute, cello and harpsichord in G Major (1763/4)
Pauliina Fred, Flute
Heidi Peltomieni, Cello
Aapo Häkkinen, Harpsichord

-Synfonia con fuga in G minor (issued 1744)

-De Profundis à 12 voci (after 1769)

-Messa de Requiem à 16 voci (1789)

Lenka Cafourková Ďuricová, Soprano
Marketá Cokrová, Alto
Romain Champion, Tenor
Jiří Miroslav Procházka, Bass
Czech Ensemble Baroque Orchestra and Choir
Roman Válek, Conductor
(HTTP link)

Tineke Steenbrink @ Diskotabel, Photo by Lex Bohmeijer